Time after time

A few things about intermittent fasting…

  1. It takes time to see trends
  2. No path you choose to take is all good or all bad
  3. “Intermittent” doesn’t mean “constant”
  4. Overall, I feel better when I fast, than when I don’t

I am not sure what causes this, but there are times when fasting feels intolerably cruel. On those days, I feel fussy, picked on, unreasonable, and pouty.

Interestingly enough, the next day, I might be totally fine with the experience. I haven’t been doing this long enough to know if it is due to the types of food I eat the evening before my fussiness. Or perhaps if there is a pattern to how many days in a row I have been following my fasting pattern. (My fasting pattern is to eat from about 5:00 p.m. till 9:00 p.m. and to fast the rest of the time)

I traveled over the Labor Day weekend with my family and wondered how my eating patterns would be affected. You see, I haven’t spoken to anyone about what I am doing around food. I tend to get private about these things. I suppose this is due to years of unsuccessful dieting. Public knowledge or comment about a failed diet is humiliating.

Anyway, continuing with intermittent fasting proved to be easier than I expected. My husband doesn’t always follow a firm feeding schedule. He tends to snack, then not be interested in a meal. As a result, it was fairly easy to put off having a meal together until the evening.

It turned out well, too. We went out to several nice restaurants. Because I had not eaten most of the day, by dinnertime, I was hungry, and felt okay with eating and enjoying a large dinner.

Leave a Reply

